Comfort Food Recipe – Chicken Snitzel

Published January 18, 2010 by Mary Jane

Ok, I know I’ve mentioned that I will put up some food recipes of dishes that I’ve cooked for dinner. Why do I call them comfort food cos they are easy to make and it sastisfies your hunger. Minimal efforts and I’ve just cooked it without reading through cook books. I must admit I’m pretty lazy when it comes to reading cook books, when I get home from work the last thing I want to do is go through the cook books and choose a recipe and to find out that I’m missing one or two ingredients. So I usually gets home and open up the fridge and find some ingredients there and whip up something quick… 🙂 People ask me how I cook dinner so early and still managed to take photos of them, well the key lies in whipping something up within 20 minutes that way it gives me time to take photos and eat without getting to hungry.

Here’s one:

Dish name: Love heart chicken snitzel, avocado mash, pan fried string beans and tomato omellte

Ingredients
1 x piece of chicken breast (crumbed)
1 x avocado
2 x potatoes
some string beans
2 x eggs
2 x tomatoes
salt, pepper, soya sauce, milk, butter, garlic

Instructions:
1. slice the chicken breast in 1/2 so that it looks like a heart shaped and crumb it with bread crumbs or you can buy those pre-made ones at supermarket and just bake them in the oven for about 180 degrees for about 15-20 minutes or until they are golden brown on the outside and if you poke them through the fork it comes out clean.
2. preparation of the avocado mash, if you don’t like avocadoes you can skip them but I’m sick of normal potato mash so I’ve added avocados and they taste great. So cut through the avocadoes and mash them. Chop the potatoes into cubes and boil the potatoes in hot boiling water until they are cooked and soft and mash them. Add salt and pepper to season and mix it with the mashed avocadoes and add a nob of butter and 2 table spoons of milk depending on how thick you would like the consistency of your mash.
3. boil some string beans in hot boiling water for about 5-10 minutes to ensure you don’t over cook it once you drain it cool it down under cold water and then drain it and drizzle some olive oil
4. Tomato omellete, first chopped finely 2 cloves of garlic and pan fried this with some oil and add chopped tomatoes and stir fry in the pan until the tomatoes are nice and soft. Add 1 table spoon of soya sauce for flavouring and whipped up 2 eggs in a bowl and pour the egg mixture into the pan and turn down the fire so it doesnt burn the omellete. Make sure you stir it around until the omellete is ready you can also add some spring onions (it’s optional)
5. Plate them all up and there you have it a dish that takes you max 30 min to prepare

4 comments on “Comfort Food Recipe – Chicken Snitzel

  • Leave a Reply

